Airport Scramble

February 7, 2010 at 9:07 pm 1 comment


The airport was huge. I couldn’t find my gate. I’d been searching for over an hour. I’d looked at maps, I’d asked for help, I’d followed every directional sign that seemed promising. No luck. And now, I was in a real pickle. I had three minutes left before some heavily-made-up, blonde flight attendant locked the door of my plane and prepared the cabin for take-off. And if I missed my plane, oh boy was I in for it. My boss would be livid! This meeting in Toronto was a matter of life and death for the company I worked for. And for my boss, the company was his baby. I’d been chosen to join him, be his “right hand man” at this meeting. If I screwed up, I was sure to be fired.

Finally, I found the gate. How I did it, I’ll never know. I literally glanced up from where I’d been hanging my head in defeat and despair, and saw “Gate 26C” printed in block letters, right in front of me! I ran to the desk and shoved my boarding pass into a pretty airport-lady’s hand. “You’re just in time, they’re about to close the door. Hurry!” I blurted “Thanks” and took off at full speed. I sprinted all the way down the empty carpeted tunnel, my carry-on, briefcase, and heavy down jacket in tow. Faster, faster, come on! At last! I rounded the final corner, caught sight of the blonde, and sure enough, she was about to lock that damn door. She looked at me in surprise, I showed her my pass stub, and she stepped aside to let me in. “Welcome aboard,” she smiled robotically. I replied by panting and heaving in her general direction, and found my way to my seat.

Share

Entry filed under: Bits n' Petals. Tags: .

A Lesson Learned “Unda-da-Sea” Island Dream

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sarahmunn  |  February 7, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    This is a creative piece I wrote, also for my Writing class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 20,741 hits


