One woman’s “wish-they-fit-me”s are another’s new wardrobe…

February 7, 2010 at 5:29 pm 2 comments


My “wish-they-fit-me”s fill three cardboard boxes. They are all the clothes I’ve grown out of, and all the ones I thought I’d grow into, but never did.

In light of the current Haiti crisis, tomorrow my clothes will be donated to the Red Cross. They will join the multitude of other donations and will soon be on the way to the left side of Hispaniola. There, they will be distributed to the people who need them most.

A couple of times since deciding to do this, I’ve caught myself thinking, “I wonder if I’ll see somebody wearing my T-shirt walking behind Anderson Cooper next week”. See now, that would be kinda cool, but that’s really not what this is about.

It’s about giving what you can to people in need. Yesterday, these clothes were sitting in an old suitcase under my bed, with no one to wear them. Today, they’re ready to be sent to someone who will.

And the thing is, why not make this donation? What have I got to lose? These clothes aren’t gonna fit me any time soon. If I didn’t choose to donate them, they’d have remained in the dust-collecting suitcase for who-knows-how-long.

To me, doing this is a prime example of the Golden Rule: “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. If I were in that situation, I’d sure appreciate somebody sending me clothes.

If you’re able to donate anything at all, please do. Imagine how you would feel if it were you.


Share

Entry filed under: Bits n' Petals. Tags: , , , .

So, why “Elilai Petals”? A Lesson Learned “Unda-da-Sea”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. potofcallaloo  |  February 7, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    I usually do the same with my “wish they fit me’s” when I’m home except that I give them to a home for kids with HIV. Good going Sarah…everyone should donate their “wish-they-fit-me’s” to a good cause.

    Reply
  • 2. Cindy  |  February 14, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I to do the same. Except all of ours goes to the Local Hospice society or SPCA thrift store. Good job Sarah!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 20,741 hits


