Snack Time – Part 3: Prawn Farts and Mango Nectar

February 16, 2010 at 4:09 pm 6 comments


There was a Filipino shop across the road from our house in Palau. It was run by a transgendered man named Rhoda.

Sunday was usually my dad’s day off, so in the evening I would trot over to Rhoda’s shop, spend $20 US or less, and come back laden with snacks.

We’d then begin what my little sister called our “Beach Party”. At 4-years-old, she seemed to make some kind of connection between going to the beach and eating junk food in her paddling pool while we sat in fold-out chairs. In reality, our “beach” was actually our “backyard” and our “backyard” was a bare concrete floor surrounded by a barbwire fence.

Despite the fact that my parents and I felt like we were living in a prison, my sister couldn’t be happier. She had us, her little pool, and her snacks.

While my parents would sip Filipino San Miguel beer, my sister and I would gulp down Gina Mango Nectar.

This wasn’t mango juice, this was mango nectar. It was sweet and thick and the colour of the sun.


With our mango nectar, my sister would munch on an American or Filipino version of some cheesy, crunchy thing, and I would eat what my dad called Prawn Farts.

Prawn Farts were actually called Prawn Crackers, made by the Filipino food company, Oishi. They are prawn-flavoured chips and each one is shaped like a thin, ridged rectangle. (“Oishi” {pronounced “oy-shee”} by the way, is a Japanese word which means “tasty” or “delicious”.)

Original, prawn flavour.

My personal favourite - spicy flavour!

My dad came up with the idea of calling them Prawn Farts because of how each chip captured an airy version of the essence of a prawn. And I guess if you really think about it, the name kinda fits. Imagine a prawn farting (that is, if prawns can fart); that tiny, resulting air bubble would be the prawn flavour encased in every single one of those chips.

Now before anyone gets offended by my comparison of this snack and the flatulence of a crustacean, let me say that I loved these things and miss being able to buy them. And ever since I left Palau, I’ve had periodic cravings for this weird and wonderful snack.

For more info on snacks from the Philippines, check out Martin Banana’s blog at http://philippinesnacks.wordpress.com/

Photo Sources:

San Miguel: http://wpcontent.answers.com/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/13/San_Miguel_Beer-set.jpg/305px-San_Miguel_Beer-set.jpg

Original flavour prawn crackers: http://filipino-store.com/images/uploads/oishi_orig.JPG

Spicy flavour prawn crackers: http://en.wikipilipinas.org/images/e/e8/OishiPrawns.JPG


Share

Entry filed under: The Tropical Chronicles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Snack Time – Part 2: Ging Gong and Soy Snack Time – Part 4: Flesh Off the Bones

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy Munn  |  February 16, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Brilliant! That’s the only word that can describe your blogs. You have such good wording for every sentence. Well done!

    Reply
  • 2. Paolo  |  February 17, 2010 at 6:02 am

    I personally find that the flatulence these little snacks have you produce is very pungent and slightly… fishy perhaps? it’s very distinct and tends to have the whole mar-mite vibe going on. Some hate it; some love it.

    Reply
  • 3. Malcolm  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Sarah,
    I love your blog! It’s original and interesting, and it gives us a (nearly literal!) taste of the islands and of your experiences in such a unique environment. I like the emphasis on food and on the little traditions and human eccentricities you’ve encountered in your life. You have an uncommon ability to make the exotic accessible without robbing it of its magic. Thank you for sharing! Keep up the good work and the excellent writing!

    Reply
    • 4. sarahmunn  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:46 am

      Thank you Malcolm. I’m glad I’ve been successful in conveying my experiences. I wanted to make it as real and relatable as possible. I’ll be writing about a variety of things, but I’d like to focus a lot on the Tropical Chronicles category. Thanks again!

      Reply
  • 5. Amber Sngebard  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    sister you’re making me hungry!!!

    I like your writing, love. You have a very clear voice in your work. I’m not sure if that’s a biased opinion… lol!! but i gotta tell ya, you have talent. But I always knew that ;P ever since eighth grade when you let me read that novel you wrote. btw, do you still have it? and are you going to write more? =D

    anyways, I’m going to come back and torture myself about the sweet days when we were able to eat all the island foods we wanted. keep ’em coming!

    Reply
    • 6. sarahmunn  |  February 23, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      Thank you so much Martul!!
      I’m glad you like it. I’m writing as much as I can, so do keep checking back.
      Yes, I think I do have the story, somewhere in my huge file folder of started stories and stuff! I’m sure I’ll go back to it one day.
      Hopefully this blog will help me get noticed by important people in the writing business.
      Thanks again!
      xo =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 20,874 hits


