Snack Time – Part 5: Salt and Mango

February 22, 2010 at 1:11 pm 6 comments


Green, unripe mango is another snack I used to love. Haven’t eaten it in ages. I guess that’s because I’m a bit older now. Childhood pastimes rarely seem to have the same effect once you stop being a child – wouldn’t you agree?


Well, about 8, 9 years ago, I thought green mango was yummy, and I jumped at every opportunity to eat it.

We (me and whoever else happened to be eating it with me) would peel the mangoes and then slice them into bite-size or finger-long pieces. (Actually, since I was little, I’d usually ask my dad or some other grown-up to do the slicing for me; my job would be to make the snack’s customary condiment.)


Sometimes it would simply be salt and pepper, (but mostly salt) on the days where we couldn’t find much of the required ingredients. However, on a good day, I would make a saucy paste to dip the mango pieces into. It would be the same dipping sauce as with the ging gong segments, but with a couple of additions. I’d usually make it spicier, there would be a lot less soy sauce (as too much would lead to a salt overdose) and I’d throw in a good bit of table salt to give it that pasty consistency. (Of course this was ridiculously quadrupling our daily sodium intake, but at the time, we didn’t care.)


Once the dipping paste was made, we’d start munching. You would have the crunchy, sour, juicy unripe mango, and the salty, spicy, slightly sour dip coating each bite. Sounds like nothing special, but I loved it. I considered it a treat, because my mum didn’t like the idea of me eating this stuff on a regular basis. “It’s not good for you! That’s too much salt!” she would say.

This was a Micronesian delicacy which I discovered in Yap but found again in Palau. I learned later that my dad had eaten the same thing while growing up in Jamaica. I thought that was pretty cool. It’s amazing what cross-cultural similarities you can find out there; you just have to look for ’em.

Flag of Yap

Flag of Palau

Flag of Jamaica

Share

Photo Sources:

Green mango: http://images.mylot.com/userImages/images/postphotos/2285458.jpg

Green mangoes: http://www.bohol.ph/pics/large/IMG_1734-W.jpg

Salt and pepper: http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/usappliance_2083_280199219

Soy sauce: http://forpeoplelikeyou.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/kikkoman-soy-sauce-150ml-s.jpg

Yap flag: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2c/Flag_of_Yap.svg/600px-Flag_of_Yap.svg.png

Palau flag: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/4/48/Flag_of_Palau.svg/800px-Flag_of_Palau.svg.png

Jamaica flag: http://www.cyec.org.uk/sites/default/files/flags/Jamaica.png

Entry filed under: The Tropical Chronicles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Snack Time – Part 4: Flesh Off the Bones Thanks to a Barely-There Skirt

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. potofcallaloo  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    This childhood pastime has the same effect on me! Mango, salt, seasoning and hot peppers mixed around in a bowl and in Trinidad and Tobago, we call it Chow. Not the only type but the most common:) yummmmzzz

    Reply
  • 3. cheryl  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    WAY back in the day – when I used to work for your Father (Chef) in Palau…I recall some of the Palauans dipping these green mango slices in pure MSG & eating it…always thought that to be a bizarre snack…they loved it

    Reply
    • 4. sarahmunn  |  March 1, 2010 at 8:30 am

      Oh, yes! I forgot about that. I remember that too. I think I tried it once, but didn’t think much of it. It’s definitely different!

      Reply
  • 5. maroof  |  May 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    mangoes and cross-culture in one. it was quite educative

    Reply
    • 6. sarahmunn  |  May 23, 2010 at 8:47 am

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Are there any other topics you would be interested in reading about? Do you enjoy cross-cultural discussion?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 20,799 hits


