Sheepish and Sorry…

March 21, 2010 at 2:33 pm 2 comments


So I sign in to my WordPress account, for the first time in a few days, with my head bent low and my proverbial tail hanging ashamedly between my legs. I haven’t been blogging at the rate that I should be, and the statistics of my daily hits definitely show it.

The first tip most people give to bloggers for “how to increase blog traffic” and “how to make your blog a success” is: POST OFTEN. The first tip most people give to writers for “how to become successful” and “how to perfect your craft” is: WRITE EVERY DAY.

And here I am, failing at two of my most important roles.

I am a writer, and dream of being successful. I view this blog as the best way to get my voice heard by as many people as possible. But I’m having trouble sticking with it.

Being in the midst of the most important semester of my education so far is daunting, stressful, and time-consuming. The pressure is on to get top grades to seal the deal with my conditional college acceptance.

Attempting to find an apartment 2,315 miles away from my current location isn’t an easy task. Trying to convince landlords that I am a trustworthy tenant when they can’t look at my face is difficult too.

Figuring out how much my daily life is going to cost puts pressure on me (because I have no money) and my parents (who are trying to save it).

Pending conferences which will greatly enhance my prospects for a good journalism career require extra time spent on schoolwork to get ahead,  so that I can attend them.

Writing every day, and moreover, polishing up posts which can be read by anyone in the world at any time, has been pushed to the bottom of the To-Do List. My role as a student must remain at the top.

So for letting down any regular readers, I am sorry. I will post new material as soon as I can. And to those who continue to stop by, thank you.

I have pages of ideas for posts, and I plan on bringing them to fruition ASAP. I take this blog very seriously, as I consider it a means to showcase my writing ability, not just some casual hobby.

I feel bad for putting my writing aside, but am trying to balance everything so that I can bring it back into the immediate picture. I will fight writer’s block and dig through myself until I find creativity, so that I can keep Elilai Petals alive and pinging.

Thank you. =)

Share

Entry filed under: Bits n' Petals. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Grouchy about the Oscars… Close Call at American Idol

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zeal4adventure  |  June 23, 2010 at 5:02 am

    Hi Sarah,

    I think that maybe (if you find the time) you can guest post on my blog as you have suggested a few months ago. No pressure. I just thought that a change once in a while would be interesting for the blog. Email me at jennusy@gmail.com once you find the time. I get you… school first, blog later. 🙂 All the best!

    Jenn

    Reply
    • 2. sarahmunn  |  June 23, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Thank you! I’ve emailed you =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 20,741 hits


