A Final Grain of Sand

August 27, 2010 at 6:08 pm 10 comments


Caribbean heat dries sea salt onto my sun-bronzed skin. Miniscule crystals climb on top of each pore and cling to every hair. Wind chases its own tail around my limbs and past my ears. Atlantic waves rush up onto ancient sand. A barbecue fire gains strength behind me. My mind struggles to record and save all the data I’m observing. In exactly 1 week I’ll be on my way to the airport, and it will be months before I see, hear, taste, smell, or feel any of this again.

~

Exactly 1 week later, I was on my way to the airport, on the twisting, turning, tummy-tormenting road that was unavoidable, should one want to travel on “de big airplanes”.  After an hour in the car (in record time, I know my dad would like me to add), we stopped at a restaurant two minutes from the airport. I wobbled out onto my feet and waited for the queasyness to pass.

Then on to lunch and a squished-up, two-minute drive to the airport (someone else would be carsitting and drove us there, so there was an extra person now in the car). After an hour of rigmarole, we finally got to the gate and waited briefly to board.

This is it, this is it, goodbye to the tropics. On to Snow Country. Aboard the plane, “Take your seats, buckle up,”. “Stow any baggage in the overhead compartments.”

I cried over the last in-the-country text messages with the wonderful young man I was leaving behind. That made physically leaving the country the hardest. Saying goodbye to my family was in two weeks, in Snow Country, not now, not here. They were with me for longer. I don’t know if I could’ve handled saying goodbye to all of them at once.

~

The tropics will be missed, but the snow is a welcome new novelty, though the cold will be hard to get used to. A month after that departure, I have since gotten settled in my new home. I’ve said goodbye to my family, which wasn’t easy. I’m in touch with them and the wonderful young man every day in some technological form. I’m making dinner and washing dishes and putting laundry on to wash. I’m managing. And so here the journey begins. The journey from sand, to snow…

Photo by author.

Share

Entry filed under: The Journey from Sand to Snow. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Confession The Feeling of Alone

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine Morrison  |  August 27, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Beautifully written Sarah – can smell the salt air and feel your pain but also excitement at leaving home for the Great White North. You’ll be just fine and will love the first snowfall…..and maybe even the second one! xxxxx

    Reply
    • 2. sarahmunn  |  August 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm

      Thank you! I hope so!

      Reply
  • 3. maroof  |  August 28, 2010 at 12:21 am

    u r fantastic…as always but this one just raised your bar.

    Reply
    • 4. sarahmunn  |  August 28, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Thanks very much Maroof.

      Reply
  • 5. Elizabeth  |  August 28, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    This describes exactly how i felt when I left, except that I had no sure plans of returning. I miss you and everybody else a lot. Welcome to Canada 😛

    Reply
    • 6. sarahmunn  |  August 28, 2010 at 10:29 pm

      Thanks Liz. Glad you could connect to it. Definitely hard to leave anywhere you’ve called “home”!!!

      Reply
    • 7. sarahmunn  |  August 28, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      I’ll be writing lots more about the move to Canada, so keep checking back. 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Amy  |  September 1, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Wow! That was really well done! (And by the way, i was there when you took that picture! Right next to you i believe.) 🙂
    Great job!

    Reply
    • 9. sarahmunn  |  September 1, 2010 at 11:27 am

      Thank you! 🙂

      Reply
  • 10. Cindy  |  September 13, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Enjoyed reading Sarah. Especially the first Paragraph.
    Life’s journey’s begin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 20,874 hits


